StewMac Hot Rod Low-profile 2-Way Truss Rod - Anyone Install With Adjustment at Headstock??? What's Your Favorite Truss Rod?

KeysNGuitar

Hey Friends!

Has anyone purchased the Hot Rod Low-profile 2-Way Truss Rod, 18" overall length from StewMac and installed it with the adjustment at the headstock instead of the heal?  The instructions show that you should install it for adjustment at the heal.  It says you can do both but many of the reviews show that installing at the headstock makes you have to cut a channel that causes a very thin section of headstock which they were all concerned about.  I would like to have the adjustment at the headstock but since this is my very first build, I don't want to have any extra challenges than needed.  What advice can you offer this newbie?  What truss rods do you normally buy that you like/love to use?  This is for electric guitar.

As always, thank you very much in advance for your comments and advice.

Chris

Hot Rod Low-profile 2-Way Truss Rod - 18 in overall length.jpg

I haven't used StewMac's version, but I use this style of trussrod all the time and always with the adjustment end at the headstock. No problems at all. If you still have some anxiety, plan to use a volute in your headstock design. It will fall right under the channel runout in the headstock and it's whole purpose is to strengthen the transition from the neck to the headstock.

SR

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, ScottR said:

I haven't used StewMac's version, but I use this style of trussrod all the time and always with the adjustment end at the headstock. No problems at all. If you still have some anxiety, plan to use a volute in your headstock design. It will fall right under the channel runout in the headstock and it's whole purpose is to strengthen the transition from the neck to the headstock.

SR

Thank you!  Now I  have to look up volute!!  :D