From-scratch amp build: 18-watt JCM-800

Greetings lads,

I'm finally diving in on a long-term goal of being able to design and build tube amps, and this will be my first from-scratch effort.  I figured I'd better start off by imitating/modifying some popular circuits before trying to design my own stuff, and this particular circuit was designed by Trinity amps.  It's a mash-up of Marshall circuitry, and is somewhat like running a JCM-800 pre-amp into an 18-watt el-84 power section.  I have some plans to tailor the pre-amp to taste, particularly the low end, and maybe some re-voicing of the highs at the power stage depending on how it responds to some extra gain I have in mind for the pre-amp, but I think it will stay reasonably close to the general framework of the Marshall designs.  

I've been putting this off for about 12 years because every time I peeked into the world of amp building, it looked so mystifying and complicated!  Before I started reading about amp design I thought I had no idea what I was doing, and now that I've been doing some reading, I can confirm that I definitely know I have no idea what I'm doing.  But I can only learn so much by reading without hands-on experience, so I figure it's high time I start electrocuting myself 👍.  I'm going to do lots of pictures, sound clips, troubleshooting, mistake-revealing, explanations, etc. in an effort to share as much of the unvarnished first-time-build experience as possible, with the hope that it might be helpful/enticing to anyone else who - like me - has spent far too many years on the fence.  

Here goes!

Most of the parts came in a few days ago.  I'm still waiting on tubes and some other parts, but I was too excited to wait, so I got started.  
vW6fLME.jpg

Mounted some of the hardware: tube sockets, front panel, IEC socket, fuse and fuse holder, switches, can capacitor, pots, grounding lugs, indicator lamp, input and output jacks, transformer grommets, etc.  

7dk7g7v.jpg