wiring fail

Rudi

Hello friends. Finished my build - I'm pleased with the woodwork and fit/finish, but have failed to wire the thing correctly. I'm getting a weak signal from the pickups and all kinds of staticky noise and hum. I have some woodworking experience, but I will certainly admit to being an absolute novice at electronics and wiring. What I'm hoping is that you guys might tell me the right order to troubleshoot this problem and get this thing wired up and running. I went down to Harbor Freight and bought an inexpensive multimeter, so I have that if needed.

I think my soldering is adequate - a little messy but nothing seems to be loose or poorly connected. Pickups are Duncan P-Rails (with triple shot rings);  the four leads from each pickup are soldered to the correct (color coded) four terminals on the triple shot rings, then the two leads from each triple shot ring are soldered to the pots, selector switch, and output jack, according to a wiring diagram from Duncan's website. To ground the bridge, I ran a wire up from across the bodies of both pots and fanned out the strands so that they are being squeezed between the top of the guitar and the bridge. I scraped the paint off the bottom of the bridge plate so there would be a fresh metal contact, but I don't know if the strings are making contact with the metal of the saddles or just the black paint. Is that an issue? And how can I use the meter to see if it is indeed grounding? Do I have to scrape the paint off the saddles? The bottoms of the height adjusting allen screws? And how can i test this with my meter? It's a little depressing to have built this solid and relatively pretty guitar and not be able to use it...but I need to get it right, and sure could use help deciding what to test and how to test it. A logical order of steps. Rank Amateur with the electronics - thanks in advance for your patience!