Custom Guitar Build - First time build

Hi - I play the guitar as a hobby and setting out to build my first electric guitar. I am a corporate lawyer and have no woodworking or mechanical skills.  The only experience I have is building a kit guitar and painted it. 

This will be a challenging project and a lot of things will go wrong 😅. It will probably get a expensive too, but I'm willing to tough it out and learn on the go. 

Here are a couple of initial drawings I made - they are rough and are based on approximate measurements. I will be refining it as I finalize the design and look up guitar plans for reference. I plan to make it a 6-string, twin humbucker style with neck-through construction.  

I am a complete novice at guitar building and any guidance would be very helpful.

Cheers!

Design v1.jpg

Design v2.jpg

Welcome to the addiction!

You've got a good start, full size drawing can be really helpful in finding any weak spots. That said, your plan is a neck-thru, isn't it? Otherwise there would not be too much support for the neck...

I also see that you're not going for the fanned frets which is good for a first build. Facets on the body are nice, they aren't too difficult to make and they sure add character to the looks. And they can improve the ergonomics as well.

• Thanks 1

I revised the drawings again - this time I used autocad. Took me a while to learn, but I seem to have got the hang of it to make at least a basic 2D drawing. 

I made a couple of different designs, with minor differences. A key point was to figure out if I should I was also deciding whether the guitar I the wings should be lighter with dark thin stripes in the neck through, or vice versa. My initial preference was the former, but once I saw pieces of walnut that were available I decided to go with walnut wings with thin maple stripes. I will post the pictures of the woods I selected separately.