Neck is now scrap wood, correct? ...or can it be saved?

I'm pretty sure this neck (to be) is ruined -- I'm hoping someone can confirm that,  or possibly give me advice on how to salvage.

I was tacking in a tiny spike to keep the fretboard from slipping during glue-up, on 2nd tap I caused a hairline crack/split. More pronounced on the back -- this is at the heel if not obvious: 

damn-split.thumb.jpg.c78d4c4f3dd6e8395563749fe0d02fb8.jpg

help.png.912bcbed1c422886e2c33d4637a681fa.png

Not really, many ways to attack that issue. You could just wick glue in it and good clamping. Not the best solution.

You could do inlays or inset wood stringers on both sides so it looks planned and fixes the problem.

You could cut off the end using a scarf joint and re-glue a new piece on and reshape the heel.

There are other ways as well, just slow down and plan the attack, then make it so.

MK 

disclaimer: me answering this post in no way implies that I think I'm a master builder.

I think you could prob tap that nail back in to spread it and put some glue in and take the nail out and clamp... it'd probably be fine.

that said... if I'm being honest and because I care - tell you the thing I know you don't want to hear... if it were me I'd think "well I really wasn't that far along on it and do I really want to spend the time to build it the rest of the way knowing it could show up really obvious at the finishing stage?"  

If it makes you feel better... on my first prototype tele body I have a hairline crack from bending the top - kind of a lot invested in it.  I can close up most of it but there is a spot that isn't going to close unless I do voodoo.  I still want to rescue it cause I don't like the idea of wasting wood or work.  It is maple tho... ime almost impossible to completely hide if you can't completely close it.