cnc build at home for templates and necks

simon1138

Hello

I have tried to read about cnc machines on various websites and got nowhere. Please could I get some advice from you experienced people on building a cnc machine and making one of adequate size to cut templates from 10mm (max) and possibly the backs of guitar necks. I have not tried making a neck yet and shaping is something I dread. 

I have some experience with electronics and programming. I can learn those things when I need to. I am more concerned with overall size of machine and size/type of motors. I have a katsu palm router and I see similar things used as the cutting tool. I have experience with arduino from my HNC electronics course.

What would be the maximum size of the machine (approx) if i just wanted to make basic body and neck templates?

Thanks

Simon

14 hours ago, simon1138 said:

What would be the maximum size of the machine (approx) if i just wanted to make basic body and neck templates?

As big as the biggest part you want to machine in one go, plus some overhang, plus whatever 'dead' dimensions the machine itself can't use due to the moving parts having to fit within the maximum travel requirements of your machined part.