New build - The Verdict

As the Red/White build is nearly finished I thought about building yet an other one.

I'm calling this one "The Verdict". Because this is my third single cut with the same shape. I'm combining what I think were succesfull features from the two previous builds to this one. 

From the Red One I'm using a drop-top.

From the Black One I will use back mounted pickups (with some changes in the design). And a bolt-on neck. Although the neck will be bolted it will extend almost through the body. So that the bridge will be bolted through the neck. If that makes any sense.

I like the modularity with a bolt-on. Separate neck is easier to work on, fix or replace. I'm making an unique piece here but being an industrial designer I can't help myself from thinking production in larger scale. I also like oiled necks. Combining that with a body that has different finnish is not straight forward. In the Red One I finished the whole back side with oil. This time I want a lackquer finish on the body. Not willing to experiment with blending the two together. Could be interesting but not worth it for me right now.  

Controls will be a combination design that take something from the both previous ones. Here I'm still in planning phase but the aim is to make the design without any cavity covers on the back of the guitar :)

Hardware. I have an extra satin chrome Schaller 455 wraparound bridge that the Red One uses. So that is the most likely candidate. Stock studs will be replaced with a through body bolts. I also have a set of Schaller locking tuners with a matching satin chrome finish. 

Pickups. I will likely start with a Dimarzio Super distortion and a 36th anniversary PAF since I have an extra pair. Back mounted with custom covers.

Birch neck. I already cut a blank which is flat sawn, but from the center of the timber so the grain is going upwards. May be I should split the blank, flip the pieces and laminate together. Dont' know.