Jam's DC

About three months ago, I visited a music store to buy cables and strings. I could've walked in, made the purchase, and walked out again, but we all know that's not what happens when you walk into a room filled with hundreds of guitars hanging on the walls. I picked up a few different instruments, all makes and models, just for fun and to see how they feel and how they're put together. My friend pointed out a PRS, and I initially declined - "If I pick that thing up, I'm gonna have to buy it."

Well, I picked it up, loved it, and was very tempted to make the call. But I went home instead, looked at heaps of pictures on the internet, and just like a coke addict with the possibility of a score, I started drawing my designs to build something just like it.

Like the few guitars I've built in likeness of others, this will not be an exact copy. I have no time for searching out exact dimensions of existing guitars, my drawings were done by hand sketching while looking at pictures. I simply do not care if I don't get the exact thickness Mr. Smith used on his guitars. I want something more personal, but obviously pulling influence from that guitar I picked up at Manny's that morning.

Specs:

• Figured Tasmanian Blackwood top
  • Walnut wings
  • Abalone binding

• 4-piece Maple neck with Black Bean veneer accent stripes
  • 660mm scale length
  • Reverse headstock
  • Ironbark fretboard
  • Stainless steel frets
  • Aluminium side dots, aluminium and abalone inlays
  • Abalone binding on fretboard

• EMG 81/60 pair, direct mount
  • Volume, tone, 3-way switch
  • 18v double battery
  • Recessed controls
  • Black metal knurled knobs with abalone inlay

• Hipshot-style hardtail bridge
  • String-through with ferrules inset on back
  • Graphtec nut
  • Gotoh locking tuners
  • Timber electronics cavity with magnets