Excessive noise

davhi888

Hello, 

I'm a newbie to the group and a novice to guitar building. I'm finishing up a p bass project with a humbucker single coil pickup. When I plug in I get a hiss when I touch the strings .  Any advice on solving this problem? Volume and tone Pots, wired with cat5 22 gauge wire. Multi strand to the pickup. Bridge is grounded. Should the 2 pots be grounded together? Thanks in advance.     

Hello and welcome!

First, what is a humbucker single coil pickup? For what I've learned, a humbucker consists of two single coils that are wound in opposite directions to cancel hum while a single coil is simply a length of wire wound around a magnet which is sensitive to 60Hz hum. The Chinese web shops often seem to put all possible descriptions to their ads without actually understanding what they mean. That said, hum cancelling single coil pickups do exist but they aren't called humbuckers, they are rather called "noiseless" as the construction is different.

I had a somewhat similar issue with a guitar with two single coil P90's. As said, single coils hiss by nature but if the grounding is properly done, touching the strings should damp it down. Mine didn't, yours don't... First I blamed the switch and a different wiring scheme helped a bit but not enough. Finally I took another look to the jack and lo and behold the ground wire went to the tip instead of the sleeve! And you can believe I had triple checked the order of the lugs. Swapping the wires at the jack was a simple task and the extra hum was gone.