Graphite (etc.) Rods for Neck

spindlebox

These things seem unreasonably expensive online, so as I do with most things, I try to find viable alternatives for just about everything.  I'm a Chef by trade, and I do this a lot in the kitchen as well.  It's just my nature.

Has anyone used different materials to do this, with the same results?  I'm just curious.  Especially if there's something that we can reclaim to do this.  I don't mind doing a little extra work to save money, and from keeping things out of the landfill.

Looking forward to your replies!

image.thumb.png.41d42bba1e81088e6dc5484629c994f3.png

I bought some carbon fibre rods once, similar dimensions to what you've got pictured above and I noticed they actually had quite a lot of flex, so from then on I decided they were a waste of money. I might change my mind if ever I have a neck twist, but I'm also of the opinion that if it's going to, it will twist eventually with or without fibre rods. My other argument for not using them is that anything that stiffens the neck is making the job of the truss rod harder so it's more likely to snap or suffer a stripped nut.

As to your question re alternatives, a friend of mine is a classical builder and as a traditionalist doesn't believe in truss rods, but he uses a centre strip of ebony as neck reinforcement - Imagine routing a 1/4" truss rod channel and just glue in some ebony. It's slightly heavier but ebony is way strong and you could route a 3x6mm channel either side of your truss rod and glue in some quarter sawn ebony. I expect you could get 6-8 trips out of a single fretboard blank. 

• Like 1

7 minutes ago, ADFinlayson said: