Wood questions

Hi all,

I'm on the eve of purchasing the wood for my guitar... I'll be ordering it for sure early next week. Which means I have to decide my final woods for construction. If you look at THIS for my post with the double-cutaway chambered guitar with the most amount of description, that's the project I've decided to go with.

So far I'm going with:

1- 14" X 20" X 1/4" soft maple for the top (not figured maple)

1- 14" X 20" X 1,3/4" honduras mahogany for the body

1- 4" X 30" X 7/8" hard maple for the neck (quartered)

Here are the options and dilemnas, that if you have time and the inclination you might be able to help me with:

-I have the option to get white limba instead... what are the tonal characteristics and workability of white limba?

-Instead of hard maple, would a mahogany neck be easier to work? Maple is the sound that I want (I think), but this IS my first project, so making things easier isn't a bad plan, either.

-Is a 7/8" neck blank thick enough for a neck plus heel (likely bolt-on, though I haven't fully decided yet, so I'd like my options open)? If I get a bunch of pieces and laminate them, it might be the right size but it's going to get expensive. :D

That's about it. I'll have a tonne more questions, but I'll be asking them at each stage of the game, rather than all at once.

Thanks for any input,

Greg