I need help with my simple little effect idea.

merthurian

Hi, i don't know much about electronics. But i don't see why this wouldn't be simple to do..

(I'm not very good at explaining)

I want to build a circuit that can chop the signal from my guitar at a variable rate.

(between about 1 and 100hz ish)

I want to have a bypass switch, and to be able to control the rate with a pot..

Can anyone give me any advice on how to build the circuit and where to get the parts from?

Thanks

i think your looking for a Gate.

a gate cuts off desired frequencies, like an EQ or a hi/low shelf, but the gate eleminates a frequency instead of lowering it or raising it like an EQ.

so say i want to cut the lows on female vocals cause i was picking up a 60hz hum in the studio, then slap a gate and adjust it so anything less than 300hz is cut out.

that what your looking for?

t

A gate is normally based on level/volume, rather than frequency. The reason gate pedals help to reduce hum in a setup is that if you set it so that it cuts off the signal when it's "only" the hum (the volume produced by playing even a light note is usually greater than the volume of the hum). When you're not playing notes, blissful silence. If you're using a distorted tone, the hum gets lost in the distortion. But if you listen carefully enough (or if you do it with a clean tone) you'll still hear the hum in there, while you're playing.

What you've described could theoretically be accomplished with some sort of gate, but I don't know of any gates that respond to frequency. That doesn't mean they don't exist! I just haven't encountered any in my amateur meanderings. What you're describing is usually accomplished with a high-pass EQ setting.

That said, it IS a gating effect he's looking for, but rather than an auto-gate set to close/open depending on volume, he wants one that will just open and close automatically, at variable rates which he wants to set with a knob.

Greg.