psw introduction

psw

B)

Great site.

Just an introduction to myself. I have been playing around with the guitar for some 30+ years.

From time to time I get obsessed with a couple of ideas and have been experimenting with them fairly full-on for the past 2 years.

I have built a number of pickup winders,

I am experimenting with Rare earth Magnets

I am detirminded to create a sustaining device to drive the strings like the ebow, sustaniac or fernandes systems.

I am a complete nutter when it comes to experimenting with the wiring of my numerous strat copies.

Congratulations on the site. It's great to see some like minded individuals working together.

I hope I can contribute something and I look forward to getting some feedback to help with my experiments.

cheers

psw

psw@dodo.com.au:D

yo man

if you're wanting to design your own sustainers then your imediatelly on my list of people i willhave to talk to lots lol. ive been thinking of having a go at it for a while :D

welcome to the forum

Hi PSW,

I've got some questions for you since you rewind pickups and have experimented with rare earth magnets.

I found some rare earth magnets that are the same size than the alnico 5 rods used in strat pickups.

Did you ever try to build a pickup out of those?

I'm curious to see if that would work but haven't been around to try it yet.

Hi psw!

If you get a sustainer system working, there will be PLENTY of people on here who will want to know how to make their own. :D There are also a few on here (myself NOT included!) who will even be knowledgeable enough to help out and be a sounding board. B)

A strong magnet that needs to be placed far away from the strings could potentially be a good candidate for an 'invisible' (ie under the pickguard or wood) passive magnetic pickup, no?

Greg

• 2 weeks later...

Sure would, GregP.

At the moment I'm making a HEX pickup. Six tiny coils on their side!!!!