acoustic pickup

I htink is officially my first thread here. I've been surfing aroudn for a couple of months, but never asked a question before. *Pats self on back*

OK, i work at a guitar building and repair shop, so any suggestions you guys have are very feasible.

I need a good way to mic/amplify my acoustic guitar because i will most liekly be playing in my school's worship team for next year. I would liek to go piezo, but i dont know the advantages of maybe a magnetic pickup and whatnot.

I've got enough money to get a piezo that i may have to drill a little for, or a magnetic.

I've been lookin a little bit at the Dean Markely ProMag and the Seymour Duncan Woody, which are both mountable without any alterations. One of these pickups would require a clunkily placed wire dangling from the pickup, but i'm sure i could jimmy-rig a way to wire it through the strap pin.

however, would an under-the-saddle piezo liek the Martin Thinline be a good option? I think it would be more convenient for a standing up and moving around kind of show, because i would drill out a new hole where the bridge pin would be and it owuld eliminate having the wire hanging accross the body. Also, piezo sound tends to be truer.

I could totally go either way, so you guys' input is extremely important here. Thanks a ton!

-Tom Eisenbraun

First off...if you work at a guitar repair shop I'm not sure why you're asking us this question :D.

Piezo is a very good option. Some of the new generation stuff with onboard preamps are great, but they are really serious mods. Again, if you work at a repair shop, this shouldn't be a problem. My stage guitar has a Fishman active piezo system. I really like it. You need a preamp of some kind with a piezo whether it's onboard or not. The signal normally needs more meat and EQ.