Poplar for a neck?

First off, I'm a newbie to this forum and worse than a rank amateur as a guitarist. Mostly I'm a Neanderthanl woodworker (primarily use antique hand tools) and I recieved an acoustic guitar kit as a gift.

I'm not happy with choice of materials in this kit. The spruce soundboard, rosewood bridge and fretboard, I'm OK with but the neck is made of poplar. Poplar seems a pretty poor choice to me. My impressions are that it would be marginal for strength, poor for sustain, and I don't know how to finish it to hide the ugly grain. Am I wrong about that?

No, not at all. Poplar is not a choice neck wood. For that guitar I'd recommend a mahogany neck. However if you intend to build a neck it'd help to have a bandsaw, powered hand drill or a drill press, a belt sander, and a router. I supposed it's feasable to make a neck with all hand tools, but the large amount of work it would take isn't worth it. There may be woodworkers coops in your area, or you may be able to take it to a lumber yard and have them rough cut it and route a truss channel for you.

Kirk

Thanks for the replies.

First, the neck is cherry, not poplar :D . It was so much lighter than the sides and back (also cherry) that I mistook it. Any opinions on the suitablility of cherry?

I suppose I can expose the neck to sunlight to get it closer to the same color as the back and sides before I start finishing.

However if you intend to build a neck it'd help to have a bandsaw, powered hand drill or a drill press, a belt sander, and a router.

I have quite a few power tools and I have access to just about anything. However a project such as a guitar neck is accomplished very easily and quietly with hand tools. After all, many fine instruments were built long before power tools existed.

Thanks again for the comments. Instrument making looks like a very exciting branch of woodworking!