Tele Humbucker/Single-Coil Wiring

cacibi

First off, I'm a newbie to wiring, guitar construction, etc. so please feel free to talk to me like I'm stupid...cause for the moment I am.

I'm looking to wire up a Tele Thinline with TV Jones Humbucker-size Filtertron in the neck and an SD Antiquity in the bridge. I have been reading through a few books and web sites, but haven't found any diagrams yet for an h-s configuration in a tele. My question is this, since 500k pots are standard for humbuckers and 250k pots are standard for single-coils, do I need to have 2 pots (1 of each) for this configuration, or can I use the Filtertron with a 250k pot. If so, will this alter the tone and in what way?

I'd also like to add a blend control to mix the pickups when the 3-way switch is in the middle position.

Any help or suggestions on reference materials would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Well, what is "standard" depends from one person to another. If you use a 500k pot, your bridge pickup will be brighter, if you use a 250k, the neck pickup will be "muddier". If I'm not mistaken, current Am. Serie Tele have a "no load" tone pot, so it can't be that bad to use a 500k. Of course, having 2 tone pots would give you more versatility (like switching from a mellow neck tone to a biting bridge tone instantly), but the classic Thinline look is just 2 knobs (including volume). It's up to you.

Wiring a fat tele is exactly the same as wiring a regular Tele, except of course if you go with the blend pot, but again you ruin the classic Thinline look (unless you use concentric knobs). I'm pretty sure it's feasible, but I'd have to experiment it before telling you exactly how to wire it. Maybe someone here can explain it.