pine as guitarbody material??

Hello everyone!

I was thinking of building a guitar out of pine (because I'm a student with almost no money, and im a newbie concerning guitarbuilding).

So my question is:

Is It possible to make it sound good, allthough it's pine?

Thanks.

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Dunno to be honest. Where abouts in the world are you. I'm sure somone will help find cheap wood. Be warned though it's not that cheap to build a guitar, especially if you need to buy tools. My projects are on hold because I've run out of money.

there have been people to build necks out of alder but i couldnt' find the original page i saw this from so i dont 'remeber the status of it as a working wood for necks.

as far as pine goes sugar pine is quite nice for a guitar body and long as you dont' expect it to sound like expensive wood.

i have played plenty of tele strat and lp bodies from this wood and it was nicer than basswood anyday, [ok i know not saying much there] but it was quite nice. and from plenty of reports some of the early fenders that were sold were in fact sugar pine as the first broadcaster was cut from that. and i belive the first 100 or so guitars done out of it. i found it online at fenders homepage when i did a report on the evolution of guitar in college a few years back. but like wes said and i have to agree, its easier to work with alder or any other wood as pine will splinter and shred and just a pain in the arse to work with. if you plan on just temping a body out, then i say go for it. and expirament. alot of my crazy ideas have been done with pine and then taking to someone who knows more than i about wood and done withh some good hard woods.

[woods not to start without experience] osage orange. i dont' remember how to spell it i know i did it wrong.

played a lespaul made from that... only once.. too heavy for my back. 26 pound guitar. solid osage orange.