GCSE Electronics - Urgent help needed!

ttruscott

I'm planning to build a foot pedal for my GCSE electronics. The problem is, neither my teacher or I have any idea where to start or how they work!

I can only build a simple foot pedal that can switch distorition on and off, but I'm not sure how to make the electronics...

I guess that it needs op-amps and it works by creating a sound like _¦¯¦_¦¯¦_¦¯¦_ rather than a smooth curve you would expect normally.

I'm sorry if this has been started alreay or it isn't the place for it, but im a complete newbie!

Could you send me some help with other sites or ANYTHING you know - coz it's guaranteed to be more than me!

I think a good place to start would be diystompboxes.com.

There's a lot to getting a good distortion pedal though. Look into the intermodulation distortion vs. harmonic distortion issue if you really are looking for quality. There are also a couple of guys here that play around with this stuff a lot. Hopefully one of them will reply.

Good luck.

I'm planning to build a foot pedal for my GCSE electronics. The problem is, neither my teacher or I have any idea where to start or how they work!

I can only build a simple foot pedal that can switch distorition on and off, but I'm not sure how to make the electronics...

I guess that it needs op-amps and it works by creating a sound like _¦¯¦_¦¯¦_¦¯¦_ rather than a smooth curve you would expect normally.

I'm sorry if this has been started alreay or it isn't the place for it, but im a complete newbie!

Could you send me some help with other sites or ANYTHING you know - coz it's guaranteed to be more than me!

hey man email me and i will see if i can help you i got a dozen basic designs you could play with that use only one chip and ahandfull of parts.. can be working in less than half an hour.

austenfantanio@yahoo.com