My first project ever!

I am starting on my first project over. Wish me luck!

My plans

-Sand it down do I can remove all the little scratches and dents.

-Paint it black.

-It seems like it was a strat.

-Replace pickguard with a custom cut out metal one (already cut out the main body frame, have to go back and cut out holes for knobs and pickups.)

-Replace the three single coils pickups with two EMG-H(hopefully will win the bet on ebay) and put those in.

-Becuase this is my first project just put in a volume knob.

-Also getting a new neck that looks like the Jackson one from ebay of course.

My questions are....

-What is the best way to wire up EMG with only a volume knob? I think having a tone would be way to hard for me to do.

-Which Knobs should I buy that work best with EMG-H.

Thanks everyone.

I was thinking of two EMH HZ, but I heard that the EMG 81+85 will give me a better sound. Is there any other good Hard Rock pickups out there?

keep in mind that emg 81 and 85 pickups are active.

bill lawrence L500-XL is a great hard rock pickup. it's the one dimebag darrell originally used, before seymour duncan paid him to endorse their copy of it.

what does active mean?

active means it has a built in preamp which allows a lower output pickup to be boosted into becoming high output...it also means it uses a battery...they are great pickups

if you want to stay with passive pickups,i don't like the hz at all...i love the active line but the passive emgs are noisy and shrill

good passive pickups for hard rock up to metal include the duncan jb,the duncan custom,dimarzio evolution,tone zone,and many others as well.

i don't like the dimebucker for anything except metal because of it's super sharp attack,and if the lawrence pickup is the same(which i don't personally know) then i wouldn't use it for hard rock either

the absolute best passive pickups i think are the stock gibson pickups that come with the 67 v...496r and 500t

hey,