racks..

Anathema

well i jsut wanted to know what you put on racks and stuff. ive seen some ppl have them and i was wondering how they work, what benifits do they have,and how they power up. do they use a power supply or anyhting or is it hooked right up to the amp its self. and i was wondering if this was anygood to use.......

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/sid=04.../base_id/85714/

also what are some good things to put on racks or any suggestions.

sorry im a newbie :D and i just wanna learn as much i can.

I'm not sure exactly what you are asking but here's a shot at an answer:

Rack mounted equipment is just a way of mounting electronics in an organized fashion. There are some units that are available as either floor pedals or rack mountable. The rack itself is just a case with standardized spacing for the shelves. The rack/case is just a box and doesn't have any electrical equipment built-in. Maybe there's a manufacturer who does build in a power supply or light but that's the basic idea.

The rack mountable units that you buy separately screw into the shelves. Each rack mountable unit could be a tuner (like the one you linked to), effects processor, noise gate, light, power conditioner, ... You buy what you want and screw them in. Each unit has it's own power cord. You can buy rack mountable power supplies to plug your units into.

The signal routing is not part of the rack itself either - you route your cables between the units as you want.

Lately, some people have been on the kick of getting rid of most of their rack gear and have been buying the "botique" floor pedals instead. This is of course just a personal preference thing. I currently own a few rack devices that I really like and am not planning on getting rid of no matter what the trend is. The units I currently use are:

TC Electronics G-Major (sweet effects processor)

BBE 362? (I can't remember the model number)