Since I can't buy one, I'm making one.

Its been a while since I've craved for a good guitar, and my dad doesn't seem to cave. He doesn't think I need one... but when I say what if I make one? He is ready to put in money... since I'M LEARNING something. :D I'm happy though. Parents can be wierd sometimes.

I've been guitarring since about 2 years now, and am 19yrs old.

So I read a buncha articles on guys who've made their guitars? I've found information regarding making it. Still is there something I should read before starting? What I need to know?

I've been playing only for about a 2 years and am not that deep in guitar theory, but I know a buncha guitar gods that know everything who can help me out, except building the guitar since they haven't done it.

So what do I need to know? Any links you got?

I had a few question, all these sites meantioned the neck scale...24" something, what does that mean? I read somewhere that it decides how big the size of the fret will be. What is better? I read somewhere that 25.5" is the most standard size. I'm looking for to build a 24 fretter.

I'm gonna try making the body first with crappy local wood, and see if I get it right. If I do I'll go get Mahogany...

What's the most difficult part in building your own guitar?

I have most general tools. My dad kinda owns a factory where a lot of metal tools are there, he said these can be used to cut wood easily enough, and too micrometer accuracy... good enough?

Also, the thing that is scarying me the most right now is the neck. I never understood what truss rods did... any one have a clue?

Also what about the quality? If I get the best wood I can (mahogany) and say dimarzio or EMG pickups, how would the quality match, to say Epiphone? Will I even reach their level in terms of sustain and tone? How much of this depends on the build quality?