Router Questions

Mickguard

Bear with me, I'm new at this power tool thing...

I've just started working with a router. I'm trying to hollow out a cavity for a little thinline project I've started...just a "practice" guitar for right now.

The wood I'm working with is 3 cm (about 1.2 inches) thick. I'd like to route it to about 0.5 cm thick or so in the cavity. (There will be two 'halves' to this guitar, both from the same planks of wood...Here's a description of that project.

But the bits supplied with my router just don't go deep enough --the max is more like 2 cm.

That'll be okay for the neck pocket I'll have to route.

But the 'real' thinline I'll be working on is 4.5 cm thick --how will I be able to route that out sufficiently?

Are there longer bits? Are they available for every router or do you need a special router for a long bit?

Thanks for any guidance...it's a fun tool to work with, that's for sure.

From what you have stated here idch, I belive you must have a fixed base router. With those the maximum depth you will be able to rout will depend on the length of the cutting surface of the bit and the length of the shaft. There is some play based upon how deep into the collette you place the bit. You can try not seating it all the way in to get a little more depth, but be careful, as you want the bit to be firmly secured in the collette of the router.

You are correct also, there are different bits with different cutting lengths that will also add some depth for you, but from what I have seen, most router bits have a standard length shaft.

What you really need is a plunge router. You can also get some really nice fixed base/plunge router setups from various manufactureres like Porter-Cable, Dewalt, etc....

What you really need is a plunge router.

Sorry, I forgot there were two types...this IS a plunge router (it goes up and down and I can set the depth, etc).