first swirl finish

Ok I'm stripping the paint off my Epiphone SG Special this weekend, and then i am going to refinish it as a 'swirl'. It's my first time doing this, so I have lots of questions to make sure I dont make a mistake. :D

Firstly is regarding the stripping. I will be using chemical stripper. Once the paint is gone, can I handle the body straight away or do I have to let it dry or do I have to sand it? Because I know the chemicals are corrosive and dont want to burn a hole through my hands..

Once the body is stripped, I'm assuming I have to apply sealer.. how many coats would I need seeing as though I'm going to dip the whole thing in water (for the swirl)?

Regarding the swirl, once I dip the body in and out, will the paint run? Should I keep the body vertical at all times when dipping and drying, or horizontal?

And finally, would swirling in only two colours look good? Most swirls I've seen seem to have a fair few colours but to me they seem too harsh on the eyes.. B)

Many thanks in advance :D

Hey there,

If your SG has the factory finish on it, i dont think your going to be able to "strip" the paint off with a chemical. Ive known this from expirience. What Ive done personally is just sand all of it off. Using an orbital sander, use a 60 grit to start off with to get down to where u can see wood grain, but its still colored. Then go to a higher grit like a 100-120, get whats left, an then try a 220 to smoothen it out, and then do go over it with a 340, then a 600, then 1500, and then 2000 before you prime it (for the sanding 600+ spend about 5 minutes on the back, front, and sides & horns per grit.) Before the primer whipe it down with a tack cloth. If you want just 2 colors you could do a splatter effect, when you paint it one color, and then take a paint brush or something, and just splatter paint all over it... Ive done it. With me it was White with red splatter (Looked like blood hehehe) - Scott