Gear For Wiring 2 Emgs

ChaosInc.

Hi guys

Well, i searched and read, and searched some more and read, but i didnt really find what i was lookin for. I bought an 85 and an 81 on ebay, they wont be here for a couple of weeks i would imagin. Anyway all im getting is the pickups. What else am i gonna need to be replacing on my guitar to get these things working properly? i know i need the 25k pot or volume but do i need one for the tone as well? Im a such a noob right now and please forgive me if i missed one of the other posts that might have the info that im lookin for.

Thanks

Well, it depends. Older EMG pickups have wires coming out of them just like regular pickups, which means you'll need however many 25k pots you want to use for volume and tone controls, a 9v batter clip, and a stereo output jack, as well as possibly needing some 22 gauge stranded core wire in two colors to run ground and other stuff.

The newer EMG pickups use the quickconnect system, so you'll need those components. You can purchase them on ebay pretty cheaply. You may or may not still need the pots depending on what you buy from ebay. Also, be sure that they are the long or short shaft pots, depending on what you need. You need the longer shaft pots for guitars like Les Pauls, while the shorter shaft pots work for everything else. A lot of people buy the EMG ZW sets, which come with both sets of pots pre-wired, and then sell off the set they don't use. So be sure to find out before you buy so you get the right thing.

Remember the Alamo, and God Bless Texas...

• 2 weeks later...