New To Forum, Need Your Help

DIYguitarguy

I'm nearing the completion of my first build and have hit a roadblock. I'm a fairly competent woodworker, but an idiot when it comes to electronics. I can understand how most of the connections are made, except I can't visualize how the "grounds" are accomplished. Everything I have read tells me that all parts must be grounded "together", yet the drawings show several separate ground points for each part. I asked the guy who sold me some parts and his answer was: "everything gets soldered to the pots", which was too simplistic for my understanding. I need help. possibly a photo realistic visual aid.

This is the wiring scheme I intend to use: 2 HB + 1V +1T + 5-way double pole switch as:

1. Bridge HB

2. Bridge coil tap south

3. Neck + Bridge HB's

4. Neck coil tap north

5. Neck HB

firstly what sort of guitar is it ?

now the pots are the volume/tone controls and the back is the metal casing solder all the grounds (bare unshielded wires/ground wires, should say on pickup instructions) to the back.

then solder a wire from the bridge(if telecaster) or the tremolo claw (if strat/ this is in the back of the guitar, (what the springs are hooked onto)).

then a ground off the pot casing to the output jack ground (negative/outside lug)

this is the only true ground on the guitar.

here is a simple strat wiring diagram http://www.guitarnuts.com/wiring/stockstrat.php

and the output jack

http://www.guitarnuts.com/wiring/shielding/jack.png

sorry i dont know any other guitar electronic setups but these are pretty simple and similar to other guitars

Edited by Samba Pa Ti