Guitar/bass In One Upgrade

Tyson

Hi, I'm new to the forum and also new to customizing guitars. Anyways, for my first project I took a fairly cheap Squier M80 and stuck a P-bass pick-up between the two humbuckers. P-bass pick-ups actually pick-up every other string, so to get my two lower strings I had to angle it slightly side-ways. I then gave the P-bass a seperate volume control and a seperate output. I then run the bass output to an octave pedal and a bass amp. Therefore I can give more of a bassy feel to my guitar or play some simple bass alone. I can not take credit for this idea as it has been done before and I simply copied the idea. Anyways, the main question I had was whether or not I should upgrade the rest of the guitar or simply rip the modification out, go out and buy a more expensive guitar and install it in there. I really like the bass modification, but I'm no expert on what you can get out of a cheap guitar (I imagine you guys are). I like the playability of the squier but am I going to be able to get high quality tone simply by upgrading the pick-ups? If you suggest an upgrade can you point me in the right direction as to what I should upgrade? Am I going to be hampered by the fact that the neck is a bolt-on? Any advice you guys can offer would help alot. Thanks!

Hi and welcome.

You first would have to decide what use you would get out of it, then even though you are not the first to do this, you would need to research and experiment, as this is not a widely used mod. The only time that I used to drop an octave for bass was when I needed a quicky just to get an idea down, but the sound sucked. I wouldn't do this on an expensive piece with out knowing what it will turn out like and knowing that I had a use for it.