Tremolo Trepidation!

Hi Folks,

Super source of information this place. This is my first topic and yes I'm a newbie although I have finished one custom strat/prs/sg/ibanez/les paul jarrah carve top on blackwood body that I am very proud of....although far from perfect! It sounds and plays super so I have a bit of clue. Second project about 2 weeks from it's first palm muted Em!!!! :D

My 3rd project is a custom V....Brazillian Mahogany Body with Figured QLD Maple Top....one LOUDMOUTH GFS humbucker and a Gotoh/Wilkinson tremolo, 25" scale.........

I have purchased the Stew Mac trem routing templates (including recess plate) and plan to recess that trem flush with the body and therefore allow 0 angle neck.....

I find the whole concept of trem installation quite daunting and are seeking any general tips or advice as to what to do or more importantly what NOT to do.....the Gotoh/Wilkinson trem is of the "fulcrum" variety with the trem simply slotting up against the posts...it has 4 springs.....kinda like the Gotoh/Wilkinson VS100N but with more of a wraparound effect to it....

My total body/top depth at trem rout point is 51mm...sorry no pics at this stage.....haven't figured the whole photobucket thing out yet.....let me know if pics would help and I'll spend the time.

Thanks in anticipation all you trem gurus :D

Hey, I just did my first trem install too. Mine was a little more difficult because the unit I had was an off-size, so the plans I found for it (in the Hiscock book) didn't match up exactly. So I just made my own templates. To make matters worse, I added the trem to a telecaster bridge plate--that bridge pickup is routed really deep AND the trem block I was using was shorter than a true strat trem block. Which means that for part of the cavity, there's only a couple millimeters of wood left...I ended up slanting the cavity in order to leave as much wood as possible while still being able to attach the springs.