New Member Looking For Help/advise

:D Hello all i am truly thankful i have finally found a place to ask questions.I am a machinist by trade so usually work with metals and need some advise on the woodworking and technical aspects of guitar building.Ok i currently have 2 guitars i am trying to modify/fix .Project 1 is a epiphone strat style guitar that originally had a tremolo and i am attempting to convert to a tunomatic style.My 1st attempt failed in that when i drilled the holes and put the bridge on the string saddles didnt have enuff adjustment to intonate properly.So first question how do i accuratly measure where to place the bridge.I understand this has to do with the scale length of the neck which i am assuming on all gibsons is the same i think 22 3/4 .Its been hard to find info on what this length represents but i believe its the distance from the nut to the bridge????.Also what about this neck angle deal is it a concern when going from a tremolo to a tunomatic? I also noticed that the factory installed tunomatics are installed at an angle with the high e side closer to the neck pickup area than the low e side??? well thats my list of questions to start.Oh ya my second project is a 1981 gibson explorer with curly maple sunburst body and glued on neck.Over the years i believe the constant tension from the strings has caused the neck to begin separating from the body and i want to remove it and reglue it

Thanks for all the help guys i know it seems i dont know jack about this stuff and thats cause.....I DONT :D

Hi there and welcome to the forum.

I am also an Engineer by trade now teaching metal work at a high school but prefer working with wood.