Buying Wood

I have mentioned here before that I am a novice builder.I have designed on paper and posterboard to scale what I am going to build.I know what I am going to use wood wise for the body and the neck.I know the scale of the instrument, bridge placement etc.

What I don't have is a concept of how much wood to buy in a board foot sense.I have access to kiln dried lumber and the tools to mill it down to usable sizes.Left over wood is not a problem as it will be put to good use.I plan to get my lumber here http://lakeshorehardwoods.com/ .There are also a few other local suppliers with more or less the same inventory.Can someone give me an idea of what I would be looking at?My bass would be of standard size scale and body wise.

Thanks in advance!

Pete

always have extra; for manuverability and unexpected defects (basically the same thing)

bodys- no top solid; you prolly want 8/4 stock and say about 4 ft; ie 8 "min width 2" thick and 2 24" pieces you could match up side by side;

i go 38- 40" for neck stock with whatever thickness depending on construction ( headstock angle; scarf; glued heel etc)

always have more; and off the same cut of wood

always have extra; for manuverability and unexpected defects (basically the same thing)

bodys- no top solid; you prolly want 8/4 stock and say about 4 ft; ie 8 "min width 2" thick and 2 24" pieces you could match up side by side;

i go 38- 40" for neck stock with whatever thickness depending on construction ( headstock angle; scarf; glued heel etc)

always have more; and off the same cut of wood

Thanks as this gives me some food for thought.I would also like to build some semi-acoustic basses with a much thinner top.