Need Advice On Pot, Cap, Resistor Values.

Doc74

Hi all

I have a Gretsch hollowbody which was a dual humbucker guitar.

I now installed a GFS single coil dream 90 in the neckposition and a humbucker dream 180 in the bridge position.

This is my first time modding a guitar so bear with me please.

There's master volume, master tone and 1 volume for each pup.

All the pots are 500k and apparently linear.

For now I will leave the tone pot as it is, I haven't decided which route to go with this. Tonestyler maybe?

I would like to replace all the volume pots with CTS pots and was thinking of a 250k for the single coil, 500k push/pull for the humbucker so I can coil tap it but that leaves me with some questions....

If I use a 500k for master volume, won't that kinda make the 250k for the single coil useless or does it make no difference what I use for master volume?

If I coil tap the humbucker with a 500k push/pull, how can I make it a 250k in the single coil position?

And for a treble bleed mod on all these, which values are recommended?

What type of wire is generally used for something like this? I believe the GFS pup wires are 26 awg.

doc

i personally go high for pots, as you can get the same resistance by turning the pot. (ie a 1m pot can be turned down from 1m to 0 ohms, where a 250k can only go from 250 k to 0. i find that its nice to have it too bright/loud and actually using the knob at a position thats not full up than being limited to a lower value, their there to be used, not just to be pretty.

i personally go high for pots, as you can get the same resistance by turning the pot. (ie a 1m pot can be turned down from 1m to 0 ohms, where a 250k can only go from 250 k to 0. i find that its nice to have it too bright/loud and actually using the knob at a position thats not full up than being limited to a lower value, their there to be used, not just to be pretty.

That's a good point! I hadn't thought of that...