Truss Rod Troubles

I'm just getting started with my first project guitar and I'm a bit confused with what to do for the trussrod. I've already bought one which is an aluminium square shaped channel with a steel rod running inside.

I've read through Melyn Hiscock's book, which doesn't directly deal with these rods, but does suggest that they should be glue into a flat bottomed channel cut into the neck face beneith the fretboard, and that they don't require a fillet.

I've also read Dennis Waring & David Raymond's book and it suggests a similar rod which isn't filleted but they do not mention gluing at all.

I have also read this http://www.projectguitar.com/tut/neck.htm and the rod used looks alot like what I have, but he makes a curved channel and covers with a fillet.

This has left me really confused, I really don't want the hassle of cutting a curved channel or making a fillet so, do I need a different type of rod?

Hi, and welcome to the Forum! :D