Telecaster Deluxe Partscaster Build

glennh

Hello everyone,

I'm about to start to build a Telecaster Deluxe style guitar.

This is my first build so I will be looking for loads of advise please.

The guitar will have 2 humbuckers with a 3 way switch and a piezo bridge.

I'm looking to wire the magnetics and piezos through another 3 way on/off/on switch for magnetic/both/piezo operation.

My first questions are...

- Do I need to shield the cavity as the pickups are humbuckers ?

- Do I need to ground the bridge as it already has a ground built into the piezos ?

- I'm also having a Bigsby tremolo - do I need to ground this ?

Many thanks in anticipation.

Hey,

Hope the first build goes well for you, my advice is to take your time and enjoy the building experience. It's easy to get excited once the construction phase is complete and the finishing starts and then do a rushed finishing job that your not happy with.

To help with your questions. Being humbucking(noise cancelling) pickups there is technically no need to shield your cavities in this build, however, it will help in making the guitar whisper quiet if thats what your after.

In all electric builds its paramount to ground your bridge. In most troubleshooting questions regarding buzzing from an electric, the first question that gets asked is "is the bridge ground?" As far as the piezo ground being enough, i'm not sure as i haven't used a piezo system. One of the other experienced guys i'm sure will chime in. I would say run a ground to the bridge anyway so when the passive side only is on it has a good ground. This will also ground the bigsby as the strings are in contact with it.

Chad. :D