Extended Range Instrument Homebuilds

Absolute noob on this forum (1st post!) wit a hypothetical question....

I'm not necessarily planning to do this as my first project... but what would be the factors to be taken into consideration when building an extended range bass/guitar, touch style instrument (e.g. warr/chapman knockoff) etc.? has anybody done this? where do the differences come in, and how would one go about building, e.g., monster fretboards for, say, 8-9 string basses or 12-string bass/guitar combinations?

like i said, i have no experience with building whatsoever, just some basic repairs. i just thought the information could be interesting, i'd probably appreciate the instruments even more.

if anyone DOES believe i could go ahead with it anyway, do post a no-frills method here! i would honestly doubt it though. :D thanx.

the fact that your not going to find a bridge for 6 guitar strings and 6 bass strings in one is a problem, though there are ways to go around this, i beleive there are 1 string bridges floating around on the internet, for odd string combinations, odd string spreads, and/or for fanned frets,

also you need to worry about the immense pressure exerted on the neck, and that the chances of neck problems increase dramatically, also playing on that thick of a fretboard becomes uncomfortable yet always possible, hell you can probably even go like the chapman stick, that one can have as many as 15 strings,

also the extended pickups are a problem,b ut yet again you can have a seperate pickup for the bass strings, and a seperate pickup for the guitar strings,like the stick does

i just realized you wanted to make a stick, this itself adds a variety of problems, forst they use their own fret system that has a 90 degree edge facing the strings so that when you tap it becomes more pronounced and gives you dynamic possibilities, also they're action is extremely low,