Neck & Body At The Heel....

I'm doing a (my very first) "project" for a Tele-Copy and got the body and neck from two different suppliers.

Body:

It's pre-cut & routed with no holes drilled in the neck heel. From: Musikraft, in New Jersey; this is a very fine & well crafted body from what-all I know and can see. The width at the neck heel is exactly 2 & 3/16ths.

Neck:

(Unfortunately, it's a Mighty Mite)...I got it off eBay and by the time I had paid for it I realized I'd have done better getting something else/ almost anything other than a Mighty Mite Neck (from all I've been hearing)! Anyway, this neck also doesn't have any holes drilled which is a definate plus.

Potential Problem:

Though this neck was "listed" as 2 & 3/16ths wide at the heel; it isn't. It's slightly over that by "not a whole lot." Maybe 1/64th (+/-)....

Since I'm new at this stuff (though I "made" a Carvin Bolt-On Kit, if that counts?)...I'm confused! Especially since the Carvin Neck had a tight fit into the Body/Heel (nice & snug).

I realize that both neck heels & bodies, at least with Fenders, have a gradual taper. What's throwing me off right now is: If I should taper-down this neck equally on both sides till it fits snugly, right?

In other words, that's what I need to do?

Measuring these "unmatched" pieces of wood I can see that there's a symmetry (in both) that would let me do this without messing up.

How do I do that, if this is what I need to do? I'm limited as far as the appropriate (luthier's) tools go. Iow, this job will be done by hand with olde fashioned hand-sanding.

My Guess Is:

Make perpindiculer-lines---on either side of the neck (underside)---and "sand down to them" using a sanding block....measuring for fit (with a T-Square) as I go.

Any advice?

(Am I right or wrong?).

Thanx, in advance!

Edited by rick_here

The Mighty Mite necks are okay. They're the same product as all the Korean Fenders. So they're as good as a Korean Fender/Squire, if that helps you out any.