Using Rosewood On A Solid Body

dansk

so i'm just getting into guitar building, kinda started already on my first body, along with a friend of mine..

these past weeks we've been looking for wood and we've come to find that there is a whole lot of awsome wood around here! (i'm in brazil, btw)

that first body we've started is solid imbuya - a very dense, beautiful dark wood. although ours is pretty much plain, it can have some pretty wild figuring, such as my own guitar's top.. anyway, enough with the blabbering...

last week me and some friend were out in the mountains for a few days, so we decided to check out the local sawmills for interesting stuff. we met some great guys who work there and showed us an awsome (and large) stock of rosewood boards.. most of them were 1 9/16" thick, almost large enough for a one-piece top and as long as three or more bodies..

i'm inclined to think it might be a rare species (duh - brazilian rosewood), since he made a point in stressing that it was all legal and he had the adequate papers for it. it IS illegal to cut down such species down here...

anyway, after much yadda yadda, my question is: how good a wood would rosewood be for a solid body?

i tend to think i wouldn't be suitable as a one-piece body, but how about a top/back? i actually thought of selling this wood over the internet, but the legal hassle wouldn't be worth it

thanks a lot for the help guys

rock on :D

- daniel

Side note ...

There is some Brazilian shaping some interesting and fine looking bodies from local woods -- and selling them on eBay. You may want to email/connect with them to see what issues/solutions they had in bringing their wood to eBay.

Also, look at those bodies -- they have some nice wood combinations (imbuya tops, etc.) The user is 'guitar_exotic_woods' or search for 'brasilian' in guitar/parts/bodies

-- joe