Building My Neck-thru Superstrat

Hi all,

Been browsing the site and forum for a few months now looking for info that will help in my first 'big' guitar project. Most of it has gone in one eye and out the other so to speak!

Im very confident with wood, especially using hand tools as i was an apprentice pattern maker a few years ago, before i quit :D so im looking forward to trying to build a guitar from scratch. However, after reading some of the articles and posts on this board the task seems more and more daunting!

Not to worry. Ive arranged for my neck thru blank to be made by Dan MacPherson www.dm-guitars.co.uk as i dont have the tools available, and its a part of the guitar that must be spot on. Dan is also supplying me with my wing wood, fretboard and trussrod.

Anyways, guitar specifications are as follows

Jackson/Ibanez style superstrat

Maple two-piece laminate neck (25.5 scale)

Alder wings

Maple fretboard, Scalloped (flat, infinite radius, whatever you want to call it)

Jumbo frets

Sperzel tuners (black)

EMG 81 bridge pup

Hardtail bridge (black, undecided on type)

Danish oil natural finish

A few questions,

Has anyone ever scalloped their fingerboard before they hammered in the frets to save any scuffing?

Im considering a reverse Parker Fly style headstock. Would a 2 piece laminated maple neck be strong enough to have such a head?

And a pic of my previous project seeing as im here and all that :D

DSCI0039s.jpg

Cheers!

Maple fretboard, Scalloped (flat, infinite radius, whatever you want to call it)

Yay! Finally someone who's figured out "zero radius" doesn't mean flat :D! I can't tell you anything about the Parker Fly headstock, but I'm sure you'll make something good happen - don't forget to show pictures as you progress.

Is that picture you posted from a kit guitar?