Squier To Stage-worthy

Smarty

Well, I'll start by saying that I'm no professional. In fact, this is my first project - a learning experience. My plan is to turn my 2004 Squier Affinity Series Stratocaster into something that I can use on stage with my friends in our new band. I am going to be refinishing it to match my 2005 Fender Stratocaster XII in a brilliant Lake Placid Blue.

I've already done a complete rewire. The lower tone control now works the bridge pickup and each tone control has its own capacitor. There are no ground loops now either. Hum has been reduced to a point where I can run it at 10 on my Frontman 15G (clean channel) without anything annoying. Also added, is a 0.001uf treble bleed.

My next step is to strip the original Navy Blue Metallic paint and route the control cavity a little wider. (the original is off-center and will create a ground loop with the pot shells against the cavity shielding) I will then (after learning to of course) spray it in Lake Placid Blue using a water-based laquer to be environmentally friendly.

The finishing enhancements will be a four-ply set of pickguard and tremolo cover in White Pearloid/W/B/W. I will then save my pennies for vintage-style tuning machines and custom shop pickups.

Here is what I have so far. (not much changed, just some new roller trees, five tremolo springs, and redone electronics) Any suggestions are welcome.

dcp06231wk.th.jpg

dcp06226eo.th.jpg

You may want to try some copper shielding in your guitar to reduce even more hum. It has done wonders in the past couple guitars I put some in. As for the pickups, why don't you try and do them yourself? Stewmac has a few kits for those single coil pickups. Found here. It would be a great learning experience and making your own pickups saves a TON of money. Oh, I am also refinishing an older squier bass, a link is in my profile, but a direct link can be found here. Keep us up to date!