Truss Rod Covers ? Beginner Questions.

odlaw

Hi,

I Want to inlay a cover for my 2001 314 taylor. Should I make a cover from scratch or are there

blanks available somewhere.

I did ask earlier about existing neck inlaying but decided to start with the covers first.

If I have to make, what type of would is suggested, thickness etc.

Do I stain before or after the inlay.

Clearcoat or not?

I am open to recommendations for any suppliers for materials

in the U.S.

Thanks

Dave

Edited by odlaw

I have little inlay experience, I'm sure someone more versed than I will chime in, but for what it's worth -

I would pick up an ebony headplate from LMI, under 10 dollars, and you can probably get several truss rod covers out of one. (Although looking at LMI's page, it seems they're out of stock of all but the second grade) It's not too difficult to cut out a truss rod cover with a small saw and some files to add a bevel. You could sand it down a bit thinner if you need, after it's cut out, and they look nice with a contrasting veneer laminated to the back.

Ebony is nice because you probably won't have to stain it, and something with a relatively consistent color makes it easier to hide hairline gaps/glue lines in your inlay with filler (epoxy and wood dust). I would imagine that since you don't clear-coat an ebony fingerboard with inlays, you wouldn't have to worry about clearcoating this, although something might be nice to bring out the most shine in the wood.

LMI also has a variety of woods for sale as headplates - I've done inlay in their Madagascar Rosewood and Cocobolo with good results as an unexperienced inlayer.

I will add that if you are going to use a headstock veneer as sugguested mark a line where the piece will be cut then inlay inside that before cutting. This will allow you to redraw the shape with the inlay centered if the inlay did not come out exactly where you wanted.