Mahogany Neck Question.

I'm in the planning stages for a fully hollow electric guitar. Yeah, technically I'm on the wrong page. Feel free to move me if you like. Basically it'll be a semi-hollow, without the center block. The reason I'm posting here is because semi's play more like electric than acoustic. And it's a neck question.

Anyways, the neck is going to be made from a quartersawn piece of mahogany, Honduran, I believe. My question is: will the neck be stable enough with just the truss rod (I plan on using a double action) or should I add a pair of carbon fiber rods to help keep things straight?

Also, the plan is to have a zero nut. My greatest fear is that if there were two cf rods in the neck it would stiffen it to the point that the neck wouldn't be able to get the slight curve necessary to give me the reasonable action, at least enough to prevent buzz. I've never worked with the stuff before, so I don't know how much flex it has.

I see no problemo with what you want to do. I have a couple neckthru guitars that I built with solid Hon. mahogany necks + fretboard. They also have the dual action truss rods and both are still stable as a rock. :D That much wood needed to enclose a dual action truss rod is sufficient mass to maintain stability. Now, if you were going to make one of those slim wizard type necks w/ a single action truss rod out of mahogany I would have some reservations. :D

You should be fine with just the truss rod; my hondo necks without CF do just great.

This said, all my necks now have a pair of CF rods in there. I like the stability/stiffness it adds to the mix. Works well for me, and I've never, ever, ever made a neck (90% of my necks are all mahogany, some laminated) that was 'too stiff' after adding 2 1/8" x 3/8" CF rods and a dual action rod. I've had one that needed to be adjusted forward (as in, put curve in) with the dual action rod, but all the others only required very minor tweaking to decrease the amount of relief.