String Height -graph Tech Nut

Ok guys,

Once again I am back with a few more questions.

I have built a strat, it sounds Amazing with a set of Dimarzio virtual vintage pickups. The neck feels great aside from some minor, minor string buzz. I adjusted the neck and got like .012-.013 relief and it plays well. It seems that the neck does not want to get any straighter, but it seems to be ok.

The one problem I am having is a replacement graph tech nut I replaced. Its way high, I messed up the installation, being that I am a novice. So I have been filing the nut with some files, slightly sloped back towards the headstock. Its taking forever though! I am using some torch tip cleaners someone recommended on this site. Its working, but slowly.

SO just a few Q's:

Does nut depth matter? I have not found any clear answer. But...I have realized that many guitars have half the string in the slot and half out.

Second, if it does matter, can I just file the top?? :D

basic I know, but like I said this is my first build and set up!

Ok guys,

Once again I am back with a few more questions.

I have built a strat, it sounds Amazing with a set of Dimarzio virtual vintage pickups. The neck feels great aside from some minor, minor string buzz. I adjusted the neck and got like .012-.013 relief and it plays well. It seems that the neck does not want to get any straighter, but it seems to be ok.

The one problem I am having is a replacement graph tech nut I replaced. Its way high, I messed up the installation, being that I am a novice. So I have been filing the nut with some files, slightly sloped back towards the headstock. Its taking forever though! I am using some torch tip cleaners someone recommended on this site. Its working, but slowly.

SO just a few Q's:

Does nut depth matter? I have not found any clear answer. But...I have realized that many guitars have half the string in the slot and half out.

Second, if it does matter, can I just file the top?? :D