Lap/slide/dobro Question

GregP

I'm mucking around with open tunings on an acoustic that I've retrofitted for lap/slide playing (see footnote). I've been using open G, D, and DADGAD (which I already knew was more "Celtic", so I wasn't expecting different), and rather than trial and error on all the various tunings, I was hoping someone could point me to the most country-friendly tuning.

For "major-sounding" country, Open G has been just fine. But I'm not very good at understanding modes and intervals in order to consciously create a tuning that would lend itself well to a more "minor" and "moody" sounding country tuning. Any suggestions? The seemingly obvious answer is to tune to a minor chord, but I'd rather approach something that has at least a bit of a catalogue of music to it rather than something "experimental" or "made-up" so that I can start learning some passages by ear and adapting them to my own style.

Thanks for any help!

Footnote (longer than the actual post!):

So I inherited this crappy "Jasmine" (Takamine's budget brand) acoustic from a guy whose ex left it behind at his apartment. It seemingly has a preamp, but when I put a battery in, no dice... so beyond trouble-shooting that, I thought I would hang onto it for a "Nashville Tuning" guitar. Never got around to that, and after much mussing with the neck, I've realized that the action will always be way too high to play chords reliably in tune anyhow. See, the neck is severely bowed, and the truss rod is at about maximum tension-- heck, I'm afraid if I try to force it another millimeter, the whole neck is going to explode! Be that as it may, the action was still a bit too low for comfortable slide work in the lower frets. Kept bangin around and generally feeling too "precious" in attacking the strings.