Help The Noob Before He Kills Himself!

Hi all!

Let me start with that I pretty much searched this forum and many others, and even Google wasn't really helpful.

So apologies if the answers are right under my nose.

Also, some questions might be excessively obvious and stupid, but I'd rather be 100% and safe then 90% sure and 10% in danger.

I am pretty much a total beginner when it comes to guitar building or woodworking.

I do believe in 'safety first', so I'm not going to start with my project as long as there are certain concerns that I'm uncertain about.

So 'kay, "what are those stupid questions the guy wants obvious answers for?" I hear you asking.

They are mostly concerning air / breathing safety.

So I bought some of those disposable white dust-masks a little while back.

I know they only protect against dust and really against vapors, and seeing as I want to invest in good protection, I was thinking about a more permanent (cartridge) respirator.

I don't know if there are models that protect both against particles and vapor, if they use different kind of filters, if there are filters that protect against both, what kind of model / brand is good (that is available in the EU), and so on.

Is it even possible to protect against chemical vapors from finishing without using a full blown 'hazmat' type closed oxygen supply?

Also, I am going to sand the old finish on one of my guitar bodies. I take it that the main safety concern here is particles, not vapor right?

Also, about dust collecting.. can I just use a good vacuum cleaner for a few small projects, or do I *really* can't go without a professional dust collector?

Are the paint flakes very airborne? Or do they just drop to the ground without much ado?

When finishing the guitar with paint / lacquer, is particle or fume protection the key?

It's important to note that I don't plan on using a airbrush or paint gun.