First Build, Need Insight

Hi, I'm new to this forum and would just like to say it's a great place, very helpful to the people who are ambitious enough to build their own guitar. I got the idea to build my own guitar about a year ago, and bought Melvin Hiscock's how to build your own electric guitar and it taught me a lot. I bought a LP plan from guitar plans unlimited, and a mahogany body blank from warmoth. Now, since it is my first build, I have some questions I was hoping you could helping me answer.

After reading about LP's, the main complaint i've heard about them is their weight. I was wondering if I could cut some fairly big pockets in the body to cut down on it, but at the same time not affect the sustain too much.

Secondly, I was wondering where you would recommend buying a flame/curly maple cap for the guitar. I don't know if I should spend a lot of money and make it a great guitar, or spend less just in case I mess it up.

My father is an engineer and owns a CNC machine at his work, and has other lathes and stuff, so I am better equipped for the job I suppose.

I have a few more questions, but will wait for these to get answered first so I don't end up with a HUGE post. Also, do you have an other advice for me and my first build?

thanks alot for any help you can give.

• 4 weeks later...
Hi, I'm new to this forum and would just like to say it's a great place, very helpful to the people who are ambitious enough to build their own guitar. I got the idea to build my own guitar about a year ago, and bought Melvin Hiscock's how to build your own electric guitar and it taught me a lot. I bought a LP plan from guitar plans unlimited, and a mahogany body blank from warmoth. Now, since it is my first build, I have some questions I was hoping you could helping me answer.