Help With Wiring Strat With 2 P90s & Middle Mini Humbucker

floatingby

Hi

I am wiring a strat project and I am putting a dream 90 P90 pickup in the bridge, a stock P90 in the neck and a Diesel "Firehawk", which I thought was a single coil, but I think it is a mini humbucker pickup in the middle.

I have wired a couple before, but I am still learning and not to keen on the why and where of polarity, how to tell, etc.

I would like to get the out of phase type sound between the bridge and middle and the middle and neck, like a strat?

I would like to have one master volume, a tone for middle and neck and a tone for bridge.

I have downloaded a million strat single coil diagrams from stock to with mods.

Will they work the same? I understand it is always experimenting, but is there anything else I need to know??

Thank you for whatever light you can shed on this.

The Diesel pickup I have is a mini humbucker, and not a single coil, which makes sense because it came in with five leads? I was going to have that one as the middle pickup. Thought it would be interesting? Do you think I can do the same with it out of phase with the neck and bridge P90?

Unfortunately I don't seem to be able to obtain a schematic or any wiring details for the Diesel pickup. It has a main black braided ground wire and 4 small leads, green, red, white, and black. The green and the white seem to be tinned together?

I have also thought about getting a 3rd P90, but I cant find a middle one that is in a humbucker size format with the gold I am working on and I want it to sound DIFFERENT!

Appreaciate it!!

I have since found out that the wiring is red=hot, white/green=solder together, black to ground. suppose to be standard Gibson humbucking wiring.

Edited by floatingby

Ohhh...so, no one want's to reply, so I will just have to add another 2C to the kitty...

First, welcome to PG floatingby...