Need Help With Custom Burst Project

I'm a pretty avid guitar player, but when it comes to refinishing of any kind, i'm a wet match in a dark cave. My girlfriend is an avid violinist, so for her birthday I'm going to attempt to make her a custom painted violin, hopefully with a purple burst design (something similar to the photo below):

Trans%20Purple%20Burst%20Ash.jpg

The violin is a 4/4 full sized acoustic:

Link to Violin

I plan on ordering my supplies from Guitar ReRanch, but other than water soulable purple wood dye and nitrocellulose black paint, I have no idea what other supplies I will need. Also, any advice at all on painting, finishing, and/or polishing methods/procedures would be greatly appreciated. Like I said, I'm pretty much a newbie here. :D

Just a friendly reminder, One picture per post, others must be linked. Except in the In Progress and Finished work section. Thanks, Mike

Edited by MiKro

I don't recommend using lacquer on a violin. It may deaden the sound too much. You should go for a hard, thin finish like shellac or varnish. You could do the burst with the dye (laying down the purple on the top then using a small sprayer to do the black around the edges) then finish with a brush on shellac or varnish. If you do use nitrocellulose, apply it very thin. Violins rely on the wood being able to vibrate freely.

Oh, and just a cautionary note. Before you take the strings off, look inside. The little post under one side of the bridge is the sound post. It's not (or it shouldn't be) glued in. If it falls down while you're working on it, take the violin to a violin repair man to get it put back up. Don't try to put the strings back on without the sound post because it may damage the top. Just saying this because I've heard stories about people throwing sound posts away because they didn't know what it was.

(edit with advice)

I'm going to assume that the violin has a finish on it