True Bypass Type Potentiometer

john123

I've recently bought a Charvel model 4 with a HSS configuration, 3 pots (volume, tone and a mid boost) and 3 toggle switches for the pickups.

This is the circuitry.

I'm about to copper shield the cavity and I will replace the potentiometers also.

I was wondering if it is possible to hook up a push pull pot on the volume or tone potentiometer and in the pull position the potentiometers would not function?

What do you guys think?

Is the volume pot attached to the PCB? If so you can't do that, but you could still wire a bypass on the tone to just bypass the tone control and give you more top end than turning it to 10 even would. I think you would just have the white and the wire from A on the center 2 lugs, then you'd wire the "down" lugs to the middle lug on the tone pot and the 2 "up" lugs to each other. I have no experience with active electronics though, I'd have to fiddle around with it to tell you for sure.

Edited by Keegan

Is the volume pot attached to the PCB? If so you can't do that, but you could still wire a bypass on the tone to just bypass the tone control and give you more top end than turning it to 10 even would. I think you would just have the white and the wire from A on the center 2 lugs, then you'd wire the "down" lugs to the middle lug on the tone pot and the 2 "up" lugs to each other. I have no experience with active electronics though, I'd have to fiddle around with it to tell you for sure.

The volume and tone pot are seperate the mid boost is attached to the pcb.

Are you talking about wiring the push pull pot? Do you think would could draw a diagram with the keys and symbols on the keyboard?

Like this.

[ - - ]

[ - - ]

[ - - ]

The active electronics are strange as the pickups are passive so i'm not to sure what they really do.

[---] (they're wired to each other)

[WW] (White from the volume, white from the pickups)

[TT] (both go to the middle of the tone pot)