Need Feedback On First Time Project

Hi all-

I am a long time woodworker / furniture maker about to take on my first guitar build and I could really use some feedback / input / critique of what I am planning here. I am trying to make a very bluesy sounding stratocaster type guitar that is not too complex for a first time build. I have the scale drawings from the download section here and several good books to guide the build. I have printed out the drawings full size and made the templates and here is my tentitive plan:

Body: Ash. Shaped based on the downloaded drawings. Routed to accept a pickguard loaded with 3 single coil pickups and a bolt on neck. The body will be painted using a sanding sealer then automotive primer, two-part automotive paint and an HVLP gun. I'll rub it down and buff it out.

Neck: Figured maple (I just happen to have have a beautiful piece in the shop), Stewart Macdonald's Fender compound radius finger board and hot rod truss rod. Finished in lacquer on the maple portion.

Nut: Black Tusq nut for fender style guitars, again from StewMac, pre-sloted 1-3/8" string spacing

Bridge: Washburn hardtail roller bridge - strings go through body. (I can get one for $10)

Pickups: maybe either stock USA fender or the Tex-Mex style.... here I really need some help.

So what do you think? The woodworking doesn't scare me, but I want to make sure I'm not setting myself up somehow with incompatible or poorly choosen parts.

Any thoughts?

it 'sounds' like your on the road to sucsess; guitar pickups for their sound isnt my thing, for sure;

but your wood selection is standard; you have all the drawings in full scale;

just have your parts all handy during the build so you can mock it up completely if you getnervous about something, and you'll be fine;

post pics when you get started;

good luck!

grant

Skip the sanding sealer, it's softer than your other finishes, you never put a softer finish under a harder one, and it's a pretty useless product anyway.