Newbie Needs Painting Advice

Hello everyone,

Newbie here so I apologize if this topic has been addressed somewhere else. I am looking to give a birthday present to someone in a band. What I want to do is have a picture of him painted on an acoustic/electric bass with the band's name on it. I want it to look like the work of this man: http://www.godfreytownsendmusic.com/Lou%20...uitar%20Art.htm. I have a hi-res picture, but I don't know how this should be done. Any advice on whether or not I should be focusing on stripping the finish, painting it on, and re-finishing it. Or can it be painted right on over the finish without coming off at some point? Any advice on what kind of finish and/or paints should be used and where I can get these? I am not interested in playability after painting as he would just have it as a collector's piece.

If anyone can offer me any advice, I would be most appreciative. I have thought about contacting a car/motorcycle artist to do the painting, but not sure if they would have the know how on a guitar.

Thanks in advance,

Brian

Just me, but there are two immediate thoughts that come to mind, especially after looking at that page.

1. If this isn't going to be played, stripping the finish and making sure that the paint isn't too thick, affects the tone, etc. probably isn't an issue. Otherwise, it's time to take off the finish on the whole part of the guitar to be painted. Sometimes clearing a little area works - if you know what they originally used as a clear coat or don't care that the painted area may have a different gloss (by using shellac or something that is relatively 'finish-safe').