Fret leveling

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to guitar maintenance, ect. and I just started out fixing my own guitars. I had 2 questions about fret leveling:

For fret leveling, ideally you take off the neck and straight it out so it's completely flat (no relief), right? Then, you check which frets are high, mark them and file them down, etc.

Now, I have a few questions about this process: 

1) It seems more logic to me to measure high frets when the neck is still on and you have the desired relief? Because the relief will have an impact on the relative fret heights? When you first take the neck off and completely straight it out, you will have different 'high' frets then measuring it with relief in the neck. So when you put the neck back on and put some relief in it, you might not have the desired result? Or am I overthinking? 🤔

2) They always say "you can only turn the truss rod slightly or you can damage your guitar". But when fret leveling, you take the neck off and straight it out, which in my case could take 2 or 3 whole turns on the truss rod.. So how does this comply with the statement above.. ? 
When you're done fret leveling, you put the neck back on and again turn the truss rod to the desired relief. I can't imagine luthiers turning the truss rods just slightly and leave it settling for a day,.. for each customer guitar while they are working on it?? 😃

Please help, as I'm breaking my head about it. Thank you!!

Welcome to the forum!

Your basic idea is right, that's the common way to level the frets.