Electric Thru Acoustic Amp?

danny_v_l

question i can answer! though i'm new in the building area, i'm a sound designer for a local theater and an audio engineer at a a local TV station.

yes. you can use a keyboard amp as a bass amp, a bass amp as a PA, anything. the major difference between all those things is the way they are wired, the type of speaker they have, and the frequency response desired (hertz).

a bass cab will usually have something like 20-2kHtz, rarely higher, an electric guitar would cover more like 120-12/14k, while an acoustic guitar, because of it's lack of as many harmonics as an electic and a much bassier sound (typically, speaking), usually goes for a 20/60-10/12k. also, an acoustic cab will have some sort of anti-feedback on it, because the hollow bodies vibrate and amplify like crazy, especially on a condenser pickup as opposed to a magnetic.

on an electric amp, there are usually multiple channels for different sounds, too. an overdriven/distorted/lead channel, while all of the channels (if there's more than one) on an acoustic are typically clean or have minor effects like chorus or reverb on them.

if you have an electric amp for your acoustic, it will not sound bad. trust me. for years, i've played my electric through an AIMS by Randall BASSO bass amp, and i love the sound of it. it's just wierd. even though there are actual amps designed specifically for acoustic guitars, you don't "need" it. if you know how to tweak EQ's or work your effects board the right way, you could use a stereo reciever hooked up to computer speakers and still have it sound great.

"it's not the gear, it's the player and how he uses it." -Victor Wooten (and a ton of other people)

hope that helps cover just about any of your questions. fire 'em at me if you have any more. if i can't answer them, i'll find someone who can.

-Dan